Life & Times of Cartoonist Yesudasan (1938-2021)

A B O U T:

Yesudasan was born on June 12, 1938 at Mavelikkara, Kerala in South India. His first cartoon appeared in 1955 in a magazine called 'Asoka' published from Kottayam, Kerala, India. But it was only in 1960, he made an entry into the world of political cartooning, that too through 'Janayugam', the mouth-piece of the Communist Party in Kerala. In Janayugam he started a regular cartoon column with the character 'Kittumman', which became the first pocket cartoon in Malayalam. In 1963, he left for Delhi to join the Shankar's Weekly and became a disciple of cartoonist Shankar, the legend of Indian cartooning. On returning to his native place, he became the editor of 'Balayugam' and later started 'Asadhu', 'Cut-Cut', 'Tuk-Tuk' and 'Sadhu', popular satirical magazines on politics and cinema, in similar lines with Shankar's Weekly. In 1985, he joined the Malayala Manorama group of publications as a staff cartoonist and worked for more than two decades.

An excellent political satirist, Yesudasan has written three books — 'Aniyara', 'Pradhama Dhrusti' and 'Post Mortem'. And his latest book 'Varayile Nayanar', a collection of cartoons on the late Chief Minister of Kerala, Shri EK Nayanar was released by Dr Manmohan Singh, the Honourable Prime Minister of India. Yesudasan has also made a reputation as a script-writer for Malayalam films. He is the founder chairman of Kerala Cartoon Academy and twice the chairman of Kerala Lalithakala Akademi.

A W A R D S:

"Kalaratnam" (1985) from KSU (S) · "Kesari Smaraka Puraskaram" (1986) from Kesari Smaraka Journalist Trust · "Ujala Award" (1987) from Jyothy Laboratories, Mumbai · "Cartoonist of the Year Award" (1990, 1992) from Trivandrum Press Club · "NV Pailey Prize for Journalism" (1996) NV Pailey Foundation · "Cartoonist Sivaram Award" (1998) from National Film Academy · "Millennium Award" (2000) from Kerala Kala Kendram · "Web India Award" (2000) from · "Lifetime Achievement Award" (2001) from Indian Institute of Cartoonists, Bangalore · "Cartoonist of the Decade Award" (2001) from Bahrain Keraleeya Samajam · "Kerala State Press Award" (2001, 2002, 2003) from the Kerala State Government · "Pattum Valayum" (2001) from Para Satire Magazine · "Antherdeseeya Puraskaram" (2003) Malayalavedi International, USA · "Best Cartoonist Award" (2004) from Trissur District Souhridavedi, Doha-Qatar · "Jaycey Foundation Film Award" (2004) from Jaycey Foundation · "Golden Jubilee Campus Award for Best Cartoonist" (2004) from Sree Sankara College, Kalady · "Outstanding Journalist" (2004) from PR Francis Memorial Samiti, Trichur · "50 Years of Cartooning" (2005) from Corporation of Cochin · "Excellence in Journalism" (2005) from Kallooppara Orthodox Convention · "Legend of Indian Cartooning (2006) from Kattanam Association, Kuwait · "BM Gaffoor Cartoon Award" (2007) from Kerala Cartoon Academy · "Kalashreshta Award" (2007) from Art and Cultural Movement of India · "Shilpachitriki" (2007) from Vidyodaya School · "For The Sake Of Honor Award" (2008) from Rotary Club Kozhikode Mid-Town · "Elavalli Narayananachari Smaraka Puraskaram" (2008) from Elavalli Narayananachari Smaraka Puraskara Samithi · "Media Trust Journalism Award" (2009) from Media Trust, Dubai · "Evangelashram Award" (2010) from Evangelashram · "Professional Excellence Award" (2010) from Y'S Men International Mid-West India Region · "Baselios Marthoma Mathews Dwitheeyan Award" (2011) from Malankara Orthodox Church · "PK Manthri Smaraka Puraskaram" (2011) from Kerala Art Academy. "Sambasivan Memorial Award" (2012) Kala-Kuwait · "MGOCSM Malankara Sabha Prathibha Award" (2012) Malankara Orthodox Syrian Church ·

Veteran journalist and CEO of Jai-Hind TV Shri KP Mohanan interviews Cartoonist Yesudadan (October 2012)

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

Design & People   Ibiblio